Frontiers in Karst Colloquium Series

The Frontiers in Karst Colloquium series is a collaboration between KWI and the NSF-funded Carbonate Critical Zone RCN to produce a series of online seminars focused on critical zone processes in carbonates. Presentations are made by invited speakers from across the range of disciplines within critical zone science, particularly highlighting contributions by early-career scientists. Presentations are approximately 30 minutes long with 10-15 minutes for questions and discussion.

Schedule of seminars (Fall 2020):

Tuesday, September 22, 2020 (8am Pacific/11 am Eastern/5 pm Central Europe/11 pm China)
Competition among Limestone Depressions Leads to Self-organized Regular Patterning on a Flat Landscape
Dr. Xiaoli Dong (UC Davis)

Tuesday, October 20, 2020 (8am Pacific/11 am Eastern/5 pm Central Europe/11 pm China)
What has the greatest effect on tree water use: a prescribed fire, a hurricane, or a solar eclipse?
Dr. Steven Brantley (The Jones Center at Ichauway)
Tuesday, November 17, 2020 (8am Pacific/11 am Eastern/5 pm Central Europe/11 pm China)
A Reactive Transport Framework for Understanding Geochemical Transformations in Karst Systems
Dr. Jessica Oster (Vanderbuilt University)

 

Video archive of seminars:

Seminar 1 (September 22, 2020): Competition among Limestone Depressions Leads to Self-organized Regular Patterning on a Flat Landscape

Seminar 2 (October, 2020): What has the greatest effect on tree water use: a prescribed fire, a hurricane, or a solar eclipse?

upcoming

 

Seminar 3 (November 17, 2020): A Reactive Transport Framework for Understanding Geochemical Transformations in Karst Systems

upcoming